Hampton Court Pavilion
replica historic pavilion within the grounds of hampton court palace, reproducing the last surviving historic pavilion
The Pavilions at Hampton Court were built between 1700 – 1702 as summer residences for the royal family in the time of William 3rd. The only surviving original pavilion of four is situated within the grounds of Hampton Court Palace and was designed by William Talman who also designed Chatsworth House. Talman also worked under the direction of Christopher Wren. The other three pavilions were demolished in 1855 by order from Queen Victoria as they were in a state of disrepair.
All Brick and Stone were approached to work on this project with a brief to replicate the last remaining pavilion, recreating an exact copy adjacent with a terrace connecting the two. After visiting the site and inspecting the original brickwork, we worked to produce a satisfactory brick match for the main façade, consisting of a blend of three bricks in a bespoke size. You can see all our brick products and services here.
The original pavilion features a combination of rope detailing on the window surrounds and intricate window arches. We worked with specialised partners to produce new bespoke rope detail and flat arches. The existing pavilion chimney posed a unique challenge to replicate, as it is made up of a vast number of layered specials with returns on the corners. Again, we worked alongside our partners to fabricate handmade wooden moulds for each brick special. The moulds themselves are a work of art and were all inspected prior to any bricks being thrown.
All building work was expertly carried out by R W Armstrong & Sons Ltd – a reputable contractor able to provide a workforce with the necessary experience to bring such a specialised project to completion. We’re alway proud to provide specialist brick services for builders. The result is a sympathetic and near exact copy of the existing original pavilion. A project All Brick and Stone are very proud to have been involved with.